First Class

1939 Baseball Hall of Fame Autographed First Day Cover Incl. Eleven Inaugural Inductees (PSA/DNA Mint 9) With Extraordinary Documented Provenance

Price: $SOLD

Quality / Condition
Inquire about this item

June 12, 1939 was a momentous day for baseball. The Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York would open for the first time amid all the pomp and pageantry you would expect on such a highly anticipated occasion. As of that date, including the 1939 class, only 26 men in the 100 year history of the game had been elected for enshrinement. In 1939, 11 of those so honored attended the inaugural induction ceremony. This remarkable commemoration of the event is an original 1939 First Day Cover signed by each of the following eleven inaugural inductees; Babe Ruth, Ty Cobb, Tris Speaker, Napoleon Lajoie, Walter Johnson, Cy Young, Connie Mack, Eddie Collins, George Sisler, Honus Wagner, and Grover Cleveland Alexander. Additional signatures include Kenesaw Mountain Landis and the local Cooperstown postmaster. As extraordinary as the piece itself is it's documented provenance recording its incredible journey.